Modern Hippie’s Detox Lemonade

Did you have too much fun this weekend? Are you fighting a cold? Or do you just want a drink that is both tasty and healthy for you? Look no further than this easy recipe for detoxifying lemonade.

The key ingredient in this concoction is Apple Cider Vinegar. Even though it’s one of those “trendy” super-substances at the moment, ACV has been around long enough to prove its worth. A simple Googling of the term “Apple Cider Vinegar benefits” yields countless articles and suggestions for using the strongly flavored liquid. I’ve tried it as a hair rinse, in various food and drink recipes, and even for natural cleaning. My favorite use by far is this tasty lemonade.

This recipe also employs the use of lemon juice. A great way to keep the scurvy away, lemons (and therefore lemon juice) are full of Vitamin C. Lemon juice is also a natural disinfectant, known to kill bacteria by some chemical process that I can’t pretend to be familiar with.

I’ve also substituted lime juice and it tastes just as yummy. It’s great if you’re in the mood for a different flavor as well.

I cannot tell a lie – I have considered adding alcohol to this due to the simple but delicious taste. I do believe that would defeat the purpose, but if you must I would recommend a vodka or gin. The tart notes would easily mask the taste of the alcohol, leaving you with a drink that is both lighter in calories and tasty.

As for the frozen fruit, I’ve made this recipe several times and by trial and error I recommend mixed berries. The mixed berries add a nice flavor to the lemonade and provide the additional detoxifying effect of the antioxidants in the berries themselves. I tried strawberries and mango as well, but neither gave the type of flavor that I was looking for.

Want to make this recipe at home? I’m warning you-it’s addicting! Even though it is very much winter here at my home in Central Virginia, this lemonade brings me to the warm days of summer. It would be the perfect addition to a hot day at the lake.

Here’s your recipe:

  • 1 tablespoon Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 8 ounces water
  • Frozen mixed berries to taste

Toss all of your ingredients into a glass and shake it! If you have a cocktail setup- this may be the perfect opportunity to use it. Pour the concoction over ice and voilà-the perfect detoxifying lemonade.

Did you try it out? Let me know what you think in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

