On Intuition

What does it mean to feel “led” to do something? On the spiritual level, I’ve heard of feeling led by direct communication from a higher power. This has never been a reality to me. I’ve never heard a directive spoken into my ear from God, g-d, the universe, anyone. I have, however, had overwhelming moments of intuition. This is the closest I understand to the concept of being led by the universe.

The latest moments of intuition have been throwing me for a loop. Sometimes I will feel strongly that I should apply for a job, I will feel the intuition alarm go off when I’m in a bad situation, or even feel an intuitive twinge regarding the outcome of a football game. But recently I’ve been feeling led to set myself up to live in a place that I never thought I’d want to live. I feel so strongly led to be in this place as soon as possible the sensation is almost overwhelming.

Since this sensation is so strong and I truly don’t understand why I logically would want to move to this place, I’ve been meditating on the concept of intuition. I respect intuition, but I also subscribe to reason because I feel the two should remain close if not intertwined in decision-making. One without the other can make for either rash or heartless decisions.

Good old Merriam-Webster defines intuition as “a thing one knows or considers likely from instinctive feeling rather than conscious reasoning.” Holy hell, it’s spot on. I have no prospects in this place, no family, no friends. Yet I feel like I should be there. I feel that if I look for my dream job, this will be the place where I will find it. I feel that when my boyfriend looks for a residency, he will find it here. I feel that when it comes time to explore moving , this is the place that will work out.

Of intuition, friends, I can only tell you that it has been right most of the time. I felt the same intuitive pull when I selected my kitten from my local humane society and he has been one of life’s sweet spots. I felt it when I met my boyfriend for the first time and he’s the love of my life. I felt it when I saw the listing for the house I now live in on the internet. Although I don’t understand it, I trust its significance in my mind and my life.

Leave a Reply

